Posted by: Laura Phillips Garner | February 8, 2010

Where in the AdBlitz World Are Tim and Pam Tebow?

A friend of mine Tweeted a link to Mashable’s article about YouTube posting all the Super Bowl ads from Sunday night’s televised festivities. As they have every year since 2007, YouTube asks viewers to watch, share, and vote on their favorite ads on its AdsBlitz channel.

I was particularly interested in seeing the Focus on the Family ad with 2007 Heisman Trophy Winner and Florida Gator Football Star Tim Tebow and his mom, Pam. The ad had elicited much controversy the week before the Super Bowl because many consider it an advocacy ad. CBS, which televised the Super Bowl, has not allowed advocacy ads to air during the Super Bowl in the past. From what I understand about the ad, Mrs. Tebow shares how she made the choice to continue her pregnancy with Tim even though a doctor advised against it.

Since I did not get to see the commercial Sunday night, I went to AdBlitz to view it. However, I couldn’t find the Tim and Pam Tebow ad among those posted. I was surprised since YouTube included all the promos for CBS shows among the AdBlitz candidates!

I am disappointed. Why did YouTube decide not to include the Tim and Pam Tebow ad in the AdBlitz voting? Did Focus on the Family ask YouTube to exclude the commercial? Unless YouTube received a request from Focus on the Family, it is not YouTube’s place to decide if the ad should or should not be included. The YouTube AdBlitz guidelines are for ads that ran during the Super Bowl, and this ad ran during the Super Bowl. By not including the Tim Tebow commercial in AdBlitz, YouTube is making the statement that it will censor content it might deem controversial. Let’s see: Yes, we’ll put up those GoDaddy! commercials, but let’s not run that ad with Tim Tebow and his mother. It might offend someone!

I finally found the Tim and Pam Tebow commercial on YouTube after wading through dozens of videos protesting its airing. Personally, I thought the commercial was a sweet, funny ad about a proud mother who is grateful that her baby lived when there were many chances that he might die. I am sure that I will be considered naïve by some and cursed by others, but I don’t see anything wrong with an ad that celebrates life and family.

Notice I did not make it clear what my position is on the question of choice. That’s not the point of this post. The point is: Be fair and democratic. Let YouTube viewers vote on the Tim and Pam Tebow ad. It might win. It might not. People should have the chance to see it on AdBlitz with the other Super Bowl commercials and decide themselves.

I would like to think that the Internet is a place for free expression no matter which side you are on.

—Laura Phillips Garner

Responses

  1. The ad did not live up to its hype. It was supposed to be an anti abortion ad, but it was rather toothless. Considering all the publicity and the fact Focus spent $2.5 million on it (months after laying off a large part of their staff), I think it was a bust. The Snicker’s ad right before it was far more effective. For the money spent, it was preaching to the choir without really reaching anyone new.

    • Thank you for your comment. I am glad you were able to view the ad and form your own opinion. Others haven’t had the opportunity to view the commercial to form their own opinions, which is the point of my post.

      Laura

  2. Hi Laura, I didn’t find that ad offensive either. It is very odd that You Tube didn’t post it, given their other “content.” I, like you, just thought it was a cute family commercial. Maybe if I went to the site mentioned in the ad, I might have a different opinon. Guess I’ll just excercise might right to choose not to find out more. 🙂

    • I totally agree. I haven’t gone to the Focus on the Family site to learn more. I just wanted to see the ad.

      Laura

  3. Honestly, I don’t really know what is going on surrounding this commercial. I have heard a few things regarding Tim Tebow’s decision to do this commercial being criticized, but honestly, I don’t think Tim Tebow is important enough to stir up a ruckus. Granted, he is a football star, and this commercial aired during the Super Bowl, but when did he become a celebrity? Isn’t he like 22 years-old? Can he not do a commercial with his mom? People need to find better things to do with their time rather then sit and chastise a kid for supporting a genuine cause and showing some mother-son affection.

    Good Post

    -David

    • I appreciate your comment, David. Tim Tebow and his mom had the right to make the commercial, CBS had the right to air it if they chose, and people had the right to comment about what they thought. That’s what’s great about living in America!

      Laura

  4. Thanks, Laura, for providing a link so that I could finally see the Tebow ad. Like you, I missed it during the Super Bowl and had great difficulty finding it on YouTube afterwards.

    I am in total agreement that the beauty of the country in which we live is that we have the freedom to express our views. As a mother, I realize that every child is a blessing and I found the ad to be an endearing celebration of that fact. During a time when many young athletes are making headlines for the mayhem in their lives, Mrs. Tebow should be proud of her son for being a young man who is willing to stand behind his family’s choices and to share their positive message with the world!

    YouTube should refrain from censoring and include this ad among the others in the AdBlitz voting.


Leave a Reply

Categories